SMPTE 2015: Hollywood Tech Innovators Honored with Awards

To cap off the SMPTE 2015 Technical Conference & Exhibition, the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers held its annual awards ceremony and dinner last night at Loews Hollywood Hotel. Laurence Thorpe, pioneer in film and television imaging (RCA, Sony, Canon) and Irwin W. Young, innovator in post-production technology (DuArt Film Laboratories) received the Society’s highest award, Honorary Membership. Annie Chang (Disney) received the Workflow Systems Medal for her efforts with DVD authoring and the Interoperable Master Format. James A. Lindner received the Archival Technology Medal Award, Birney Dayton the David Sarnoff Medal Award, and Stan Moote the Digital Processing Medal Award. For the complete list of honorees and 15 new Fellows, visit the SMPTE press release.